Eau de Spit Up


It never fails.  I’m dressed and ready to walk out of the door.  I pick up Little Bear from her crib and put her up to my shoulder.  And then, it happens.  The wet, warm, fragrant sensation that can only be one thing.  Spit up.  Throw up.  A burp gone wrong.  The PG pearl necklace.  The mark of motherhood.  Call it what you will,  spit happens.

I’ve learned the baby wipe trick.  In addition to cleaning pretty much anything in your house , they also neutralize the odor of milky spit up.  That doesn’t make it any more fun, though.

It’s always interesting to be made aware of a white trail going down your back in the middle of a store.  Especially when you left the baby at home. 

Or to be in the middle of a meeting and suddenly have a pool of spit up in your lap.  While the diaper bag is across the room.

Then there is always the Stranger Surprise.   The worst of spit up attacks.  That moment when someone else takes Little Bear and she looks up at him or her with those big gorgeous eyes and promptly throws up all over them.  The Stranger Surprise is typically doubled up with the Ultimate Mommy Merit Badge Failure.  For those of you who are always prepared, an explanation of UMMBF……this is when Mommy doesn’t have a spit up rag, baby wipes, or even tissues in the diaper bag or her purse.  Oh, what fun.

I’ve decided instead of fighting the spit up, I’m going to embrace it.  Take it and make it my own.  How, you ask?  Instead of stressing over getting it cleaned off of my clothes, I’m just going to leave it.  Lazy?  Not really.  See, in my Mommy World, it’s not going to be rotting, regurgitated milk all over me.  No!  It’s now going to be called Eau de Spit Up!  Embrace the odor stench fragrance!

About broiledcookies

I'm a wife and mother. I enjoy cooking and baking. I love to eat carbs, especially those made with large amounts of butter and/or sugar. My cast iron skillet is the most used item in my kitchen. I enjoy playing outside and taking pictures. You'll often find me singing to myself. I read....a LOT!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Eau de Spit Up

  1. Cheryl says:

    Ah yes. The badge of motherhood. I’ve worn it with all three kids, and worn it with pride.

  2. Ann Ragland says:

    Our kids were major league spitters too! Wear it as a badge of honor! Love your posts, so funny and right on the money.

    • The Bear was a rare, sneaky spitter…..Baby Bear spitting up all of the time is taking some adjusting for me.

      But, this brought back memories of my brother S filling up dad’s pocket of his black and yellow plaid shirt with spit up at Great Grandma Ree’s big party at the Eagles club.
      At least, I think that’s a real memory…sometimes my imagination gets out of hand! 🙂 I’ll check with Dad about that!

  3. Lerin says:

    PG pearl necklace?!?! Oh that’s a good one. I’m still giggling!

  4. amber says:

    Mmmmm, eau de spit up. I’ve worn that fragrance…most embarrassingly, to a client meeting. And you know what stinks? After that fragrance is history, it’s inevitably replace by What My Baby Ate…because whatever she has ends up on me.

  5. Anne says:

    Oh my gosh don’t you just love those wipes?? My couch/carpet/clothes/hands and of course baby couldn’t live without them :).

    Nice blog and fun writing style!!

  6. hahaha. I’ve been there and done that my friend :o)

Leave a Reply

