Friday Rants and Raves


Sorry I haven’t posted this week….I have several in the works, just no motivation or time to finish them!  My bad!

So, instead I’m starting up my Friday Rants and Raves.  Things that I hate, make me mad, or I need to get off of my chest and good bits I want to share.  Chime in with your own rants and raves….its very cathartic!

 

People that use the “R” word in a non-clinical use make me sick.  You know who I’m talking about, the folks who say ‘I’m so retarded’, or ‘I can’t believe so-and-so could do something that retarded’.  Please, don’t insult people who actually have mental challenges by comparing yourself and others to them.   You are obviously much, MUCH, MUCH more handicapped than they will ever be if you think that it is okay to use that word in that sense.  In other (not so polite) words, you sir or ma’am, are an a-hole and moron all wrapped up in one.

Drivers in Wal-Mart parking lot at 10:00 at night.  Seriously, slow down!!!!  I was almost clipped by two different cars as I walked into Wal-Mart the other night to do some grocery shopping.  I try to go that late at night for two reasons.  One, it’s much less crowded and therefore easier to find stuff.  Two, The Bear is asleep at home with Daddy.  Which means I can get my shopping done in half the time and I am much more likely to stick to my list.  Anyway, as I walked to the door two different cars came flying around the corner with no concern that people may be walking in the lot.  I really kinda wished I would have seen who they were.  There was a LOT I wanted to explain to them about proper driving etiquette in parking lots. 

Our local town’s council.  You guys are grade A jerks.  Our local paper ran an editorial about how they decided that non-pool employees could not give private lessons at the public pool.  One council member stated concern that the teacher would make money at our public swimming pool.  Okay.  So, are you going to ban childcare providers from taking their kids to the pool….they are, after all, making money at the public pool.  The local summer kids program takes kids there several times a week as well.  That group is making money while at the pool.  Shouldn’t this stupidity be universal?  I paid a non-pool employee for private lessons last summer and am doing the same thing again this summer.  Why?  Because our local pool doesn’t offer classes to kids who aren’t 5 or 6 (can’t remember which off the top of my head).  I want my toddler to be comfortable in the water and start to learn the basics of swimming for her safety and my peace of mind.  If you aren’t going to allow private lessons, offer more classes….and you better offer some evening classes as well for folks who can’t take off of work in the morning to get their kiddos to class! 

Headaches, you can bite me.  That is all I have to say about that.

Soap.com please, please, pretty please hurry up and open!  I am almost out of dishwashing detergent and our lovely local Wal-Mart quit carrying the kind I prefer.  Now that I mention it, they also quit carrying the dish soap I have used for the past 4 years.  I really need to get more stuff, and really don’t want to drive to the nearest Target (about an hour away).  So, please hurry!

Potty Training still stinks.

 

 And now, just so you don’t think I’m negative all of the time, my raves! 

I recently discovered that our local Wal-Mart quit carrying liquid Dreft in the large size I like to purchase. (Okay, this one is half rant/half rave…..)  Anyway, as I was placing my last Diapers.com order, I looked around at their detergent section.  As always, I started to compare prices to see about finding the best deal.  And in the process, discovered a wonderful product!  Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Baby Detergent.   Per load it is cheaper than Dreft AND it has all natural ingredients.  On a whim, I ordered it.  I LOVE IT!!!!!!  It does a great job cleaning, and has a wonderful light scent.  And it’s great to know that there aren’t a bunch of funky chemicals in it.  My next order, I plan on getting the larger size bottle and trying the regular laundry detergent! 

This week kicked off a new study group at my church.  We’re reading the book “Mom and Loving It!”  Our books haven’t come in yet, but it was wonderful to get together with other mom’s and talk about daily life with kids.  Our group leader told us about the book and I am so excited to start reading it!  My problem is going to be only reading the assigned chapters each week!  I’m sure I’ll be posting about it more in the weeks to come!

My heart melts when The Bear insists on helping with Baby Bear.  It is so sweet to watch her read a book to her sister and sing songs for her.  I am so blessed.

Large boxes that internet orders arrive in are sooooo much more fun to play in than everyday toys.  We colored and decorated an especially large box and used it as a castle, house, boat, truck, and hiding place.  It was a great time until The Bear had an accident while playing in it.  Explaining to a crying toddler why you can’t just clean a cardboard box like you can other stuff is really tough.  Now she’s counting down until I place our next diaper order!

 

So, what rants and raves do you need to get off of your chest this week?

 

About broiledcookies

I'm a wife and mother. I enjoy cooking and baking. I love to eat carbs, especially those made with large amounts of butter and/or sugar. My cast iron skillet is the most used item in my kitchen. I enjoy playing outside and taking pictures. You'll often find me singing to myself. I read....a LOT!
This entry was posted in Baby, Life, Mom, Parenthood, Potty Training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Rants and Raves

  1. Ann Ragland says:

    Rant:
    1. People who still think it’s okay to make racist jokes or laugh at them.
    2. Why is chocolate so popular? I just don’t get it.
    3. Over zealous people of every group from militant mommies to the Mujahideen.
    4. Why can’t handicapped spaces be painted yellow, or something all the way out to the driving lane? That way I could see them and avoid them much better.
    Raves:
    1. The Atlantic Ocean, and everything about it, especially protecting it.
    2. Bees! So wonderful, so stressed, and so misunderstood.
    3. My kids! Scott and I have raised 3 really fun and kind people.
    4. Etsy! I love it for shopping and browsing and for my “virtual jewelry box,” favorites.
    5. Facebook! It’s a great way to keep up with family and friends who I miss seeing on a regular basis.

    • 1. Agree totally!
      2. Because it is manna from Heaven, silly girl!
      3. Amen!
      4. I always get mad when I think I’m getting an awesome parking spot, only to realize that it is a poorly marked Handicapped spot. Yellow (or blue maybe) clear to the lane is brillant!
      And I love all of your raves!

Leave a Reply

