To Dream The Impossible Dream


So, is there hope of ever being able to go to the store…..alone? No husband questioning if what I’m buying is really needed. No toddler wanting random foods. No infant deciding she is hungry halfway through the store. Just me, my shopping list, and a cart with a squeaky wheel. That would be lovely.

And while we’re on the topic of alone time, I would love to be able to take a shower without The Bear popping in. It is awkward enough trying to shave without having to work around a toddler singing ‘Wash That Man Right Outta My Hair’. And, the rare occasions I’m able to convince her I need to shower by myself, she still feels the need to linger in the bathroom and get into everything. Resulting in my eye makeup getting destroyed.

While I love my husband and children with all of my heart, I would really like about two consecutive hours a month with no one asking me for a drink, what we’re having for supper, changing diapers, picking up toys, washing anything, or yelling at anyone.

The sad thing is, I know this ‘impossible’ dream is going to change when the girls hit those teen-ish years where moms become uncool and dorky and I’ll wish we could spend more time together.

Moms, how do you find time to keep your sanity?  More importantly, how do you find the time to keep your sanity while finding moments you’ll be able to look back on fondly in 5, 10, 20 years?

About broiledcookies

I'm a wife and mother. I enjoy cooking and baking. I love to eat carbs, especially those made with large amounts of butter and/or sugar. My cast iron skillet is the most used item in my kitchen. I enjoy playing outside and taking pictures. You'll often find me singing to myself. I read....a LOT!
This entry was posted in Childhood, Humor, Life, Mom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

