Its Wednesday, So Spill It!


To help us all make it through the week, I’m starting Its Wednesday, So Spill It!  Here is how it works:

Share a happy thought. 

That’s it.  Share a happy thought. Only one is needed, but feel free to spill more if the spirit moves you.

Each week will have a different theme to follow.  This week is memories.  So, spill a memory.  It can be a big memory or a small one, a scent, a vacation, or a person.  It just has to be a happy memory.

I’ll start with a few examples to get us going!

Yesterday while grocery shopping I crossed paths with a woman who was wearing White Shoulders.  This immediately made me think of my Great-Aunt Marian.  She had the softest hands I’ve ever felt, wonderful hugs and always had on the perfect amount of White Shoulders. 

 

When I bake, I think of my Grandma Swoyer and how she taught me to sift, level off your measuring spoons and cups, you can’t cook and stay clean, and to be brave and try new recipes.  It’s almost like she is there with me when I teach The Bear how to do those things. 

 

Books.  I grew up in a house with books in every nook and cranny.  Stacked under the end table, on the coffee table, bookshelves filled to the exploding point, books everywhere.  It wasn’t uncommon for me to be reading the same book as one of my parents or for me to wait impatiently for them to finish a book so I could snag it.  I remember poring over the Barnes and Noble catalog we got in the mail (I remember when they opened a store in Topeka, KS and how excited we were to go!).  I would agonize over picking out the book, or if I was lucky books, I wanted to get.  Then there was that moment when those books came in the mail.  Opening the box to the smell of the paper and ink and then that sound as you crack the spine open for the very first time….there is nothing like it. 

 

Holding my daughters in my arms for the first time.  After the nausea, the weight gain, the swelling, the hip pain, the bedrest, the pain of labor, the moment when I looked at my girls, all of that went away. 

 

So, there are a few of my happy memories for the first Spill It day.  Your turn!  Spill your happy memory or memories!

About broiledcookies

I'm a wife and mother. I enjoy cooking and baking. I love to eat carbs, especially those made with large amounts of butter and/or sugar. My cast iron skillet is the most used item in my kitchen. I enjoy playing outside and taking pictures. You'll often find me singing to myself. I read....a LOT!
This entry was posted in Childhood, Life, Memories, Mom, Parenthood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Its Wednesday, So Spill It!

  1. Ann Ragland says:

    I’m all teared up with your memory of my mama. I’m so glad you remember her! She was a brave, brave woman who did more for me than I usually acknowledge.

    • I have a lot of memories of your mama! Like the smelly markers she gave us when we went back East for your wedding….they were the ones that the opening in the box made a smiley face! I remember thinking how you could really tell that she and Grandpa were siblings…they had a lot of similar mannerisms and they looked like siblings!

  2. Amy Sundberg says:

    It’s my friends’ wedding anniversary today, so I’m remembering their wedding three years ago, which is probably my favorite wedding I’ve ever attended. They’re so much in love, and they had each of their seven(!) parents give a wedding blessing during the ceremony. Their personal vows brought tears to my eyes.

    • What a wonderful memory to share! And wow, seven parents! How amazing that they were all able and willing to give a wedding blessing! I wanted to do personal vows, but was honestly a little worried about what my husband would come up with! I’m always a little jealous when people are able to pull those off!

Leave a Reply

